The Seekers to receive prestigious Honour

The SeekersThey have been named Australians of the Year (1967) and appeared on their own “Music Legends” postage stamp. Now, in their 50th year, The Seekers Judith Durham, Athol Guy, Keith Potger and Bruce Woodley – will add another honour to their illustrious career when they receive the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music at the 2013 APRA Music Awards on June 17.

The Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music honours those who have made a significant contribution to shaping and developing the Australian music landscape.

APRA-AMCOS CEO, Brett Cottle said, “Surely no other Australian act has had such enormous international appeal while retaining its unadorned sense of ‘Australianness’.”

The Seekers really put Australian music on the map: a succession of Top 5 hits around the world, including three UK number ones, all achieved at the height of the popularity of The Beatles, The Stones, The Beach Boys and Motown. The Seekers often outsold them all. And 50 years later the music sounds every bit as great as it did then. “

The Seekers are the only chart-topping band from the 60s with all its original founding members – still recording and performing after half a century. They first performed together in Melbourne in 1962 and became Australia’s first international super group, topping charts around the world with unforgettable hits like Georgy Girl, The Carnival Is Over (No. 7 in the Top 10 UK Hits of the 60s), A World of Our Own and I’ll Never Find Another You (which to date has had more than 7 million hits on

Famous for putting Australia on the international music map with their unique pop sound, singing four-part harmonies with acoustic guitars and double bass, The Seekers still hold the record for the biggest concert crowd in the southern hemisphere (200,000) in March 1967.

With the Golden Jubilee Album sitting in the top 10 of the ARIA Australian Artist Albums chart, The Seekers embody the very spirit of the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

On their impending honour, The Seekers said, “Over the past 50 years, we’ve been the proud recipients of many awards from all over the world, but recognition in our own country has always meant a great deal to us.”

“We are truly honoured to receive the Ted Albert Award, named after such a legendary and iconic figure in the Australian music industry.”

The Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services To Australian Music has been bestowed upon some of Australia’s most respected music industry heavyweights including Don Burrows, Michael Chugg, Slim Dusty, youth radio network triple j, Bill Armstrong, Angus & Malcolm Young, Roger Davies, Denis Handlin AM, the late Jimmy Little, Paul Kelly and last year’s recipient Mary Lopez.

The APRA Music Awards, will be held on Monday 17 June at the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. For more information, visit:

Image: The Seekers with Ray Martin (courtesy of The Seekers)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.