The Glugs Awards announced in Sydney

Tony Sheldon and Henri SzepsFor 48 years, a group of dedicated enthusiasts have been meeting for long lunches and longer debates about what’s on stage in Sydney. On Monday evening, The Glugs handed out their annual Theatre Awards for 2014 at The Castlereagh Inn.

Norman Kessell Memorial Award for Most Outstanding Actor
Female: Lucy Bell, Emerald City (Griffin Theatre Company)

Male: Sean Taylor, Blue/Orange (Ensemble Theatre) / Steve Rodgers, Eight Gigabytes of Hardcore Pornography(Griffin Theatre Company)

Jeffry Joynton-Smith Memorial Award for Most Outstanding Supporting Actor
Female: Kate Fitzpatrick, Cruise Control (Ensemble Theatre)

Male: Andrew Henry, All My Sons (Darlinghurst Theatre)

Colleen Clifford Memorial Award for Best Actor in Music Theatre
Female: Katrina Retallick, Ruthless (The Theatre Division)

Male: Ian Stenlake, Truth, Beauty and a Picture of You (Neil Gooding Productions)

Colleen Clifford Memorial Award for Best Supporting Performer in Music Theatre
Female: Geraldine Turner, Ruthless (The Theatre Division)

Male: Tom Sharah, The Drowsy Chaperone (Squabbalogic)

Most Outstanding Newcomer
Hunter Page-Lochard, Brother’s Wreck (Belvoir)

Taffy Davies Memorial Award for Most Outstanding Independent Production
All My Sons (Darlinghurst Theatre)

John West Memorial Award for Most Outstanding New Australian Performed Work
Eight Gigabytes of Hardcore Pornography by Declan Greene

Award for Most Outstanding Children’s Theatre Production
Pete the Sheep (Monkey Baa Theatre Company)

Robert Davis Memorial Award for Most Outstanding Mainstream Production
The King and I (Opera Australia and John Frost)

The Award for Best Musical Production
Sweet Charity (Hayes Theatre; Luckiest Productions/ Neil Gooding Productions)

Best Cabaret Award (Chosen by Chief Glug)
Donna Lee Sings Petula Clark (Hayes Theatre)

Don Reid Memorial Award for Performer on the Way
Madeleine Benson

Hayes Gordon Memorial Award for Important Contribution to Theatre
Andrew Worboys

The Chief Glug Award for Excellence Behind the Scenes
Neil Gooding

Seaborn Broughton and Walford Award for Lifetime Achievement
Henri Szeps

It was also announced that Lee Young has resigned from his 11-year position as Chief Glug and is handing the reigns over to Dr. Bill Winspear, Board Member of the SBW Foundation.

For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Tony Sheldon and Henri Szeps – photo by Merran Doyle