Shortlist announced for the 2016 Fleurieu Art Prize

Fleurieu Art Prize 2016The Samstag Museum of Art has announced the shortlist of artists selected for the 2016 Fleurieu Art Prize. The winner of the Landscape Prize will be announced in Adelaide on Thursday 2 June 2016.

Landscape as a subject for art continues to capture the imagination not only of the wider community, but also increasingly of leading artists wanting to express a connection with place, and who recognise that landscape holds a compelling power for our contemporary culture.

Shortlisted artists include: Tony Albert, Brook Andrew, Raymond Arnold, Narelle Autio, Tok Basuki, Lionel Bawden, Clare Belfrage, Natasha Bieniek, Julie Blyfield, Andrew Browne, Thomas Buchanan, Stephen Bush, Jacobus Capone, Gary Carsley, James Darling + Lesley Forwood, Ed Douglas, Hayden Fowler, Neil Frazer, Holly Grace, Neil Haddon, Robert Hannaford, Nicholas Harding, Tim Johnson, Ash Keating, John Kelly, Ildiko Kovacs, Janet Laurence, Sam Leach, Richard Lewer, Tony Lloyd, William Mackinnon, Noel McKenna, Alexander Mckenzie, Danie Mellor, Jeffery Mincham, Geoff Newton, Jamie North, Ian North, Jill Orr, Baden Pailthorpe, Anna Platten, Rodney Pople, Joan Ross, Alex Seton, Sam Shmith, Tim Silver, Valerie Sparks, Vipoo Srivilasa, David Stephenson + Martin Walch, Kylie Stillman, Imants Tillers, Aida Tomescu, James Tylor, Hossein Valamanesh, Megan Walch, Sera Waters, Amy Joy Watson, Geoff Wilson, and Philip Wolfhagen.

The judging panel for 2016 includes: Nigel Hurst, Director – Saatchi Gallery London; Suhanya Raffel, Deputy Director and Director of Collections – Art Gallery of New South Wales; and Erica Green, Director – Samstag Museum of Art, Adelaide.

Since its establishment in 1998, the Fleurieu Art Prize has been staged eight times. Now valued at $65,000, the non-acquisitive prize has garnered an international reputation. Former winners include Fiona Lowry (2013), Ken Whisson (2006), Elisabeth Cummings (2000) and Robert Hannford (1998).

In 2016, the Fleurieu Art Prize will relocate from its home on the beautiful Fleurieu Peninsula of South Australia to the Anne & Gordon Samstag Museum of Art in Adelaide, where it will be presented to city audiences for the first time.

The Fleurieu Art Prize is accompanied by a Festival Community Program celebrating the art, food and wine of the Fleurieu Peninsula region. The highlight of this program is the $10,000 Fleurieu Food + Wine Art Prize, a non-acquisitive prize for paintings with a food and wine theme. Anchored in the McLaren Vale, it will continue the Fleurieu Art Prize’s close association with the Region.

The 2016 Fleurieu Art Prize will be announced at the Samstag Museum of Art on Thursday 2 June 2016. An exhibition of the finalists will then continue to Friday 29 July 2016. For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Geoff Wilson, Noarlunga landscape (detail), 1972, synthetic polymer paint on canvas, 61.0 x 76.2 cm. Collection of Catherine and Emily Trott, SA. Design by Xtra Shiny, Adelaide.