Perpetual announces Longlist for prestigious Miles Franklin Literary Award

2022-Miles-Franklin-Award-LonglistThe trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, Perpetual, have announced twelve brilliant authors have been included on the 2022 Longlist. They will be competing for one of the most prominent literary prizes in Australia, with the winner also receiving $60,000.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award was established by feminist, and author of My Brilliant Career, Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin. First presented in 1957, the Award celebrates novels of the highest literary merit that tell stories about Australian life, shining a light on some of the country’s most accomplished writers.

The 2022 Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist is:

Author: Novel: Publisher:
 Michael Mohammed Ahmad  The Other Half of You  Hachette Australia
 Larissa Behrendt  After Story  University of Queensland Press
 Michelle de Kretser  Scary Monsters  Allen & Unwin
 Jennifer Down  Bodies of Light  Text Publishing
 Briohny Doyle  Echolalia  Penguin Random House
 Max Easton  The Magpie Wing  Giramondo Publishing
 John Hughes  The Dogs  Upswell Publishing
 Jennifer Mills  The Airways  Picador Australia, Pan Macmillan Australia
 Alice Pung  One Hundred Days  Black Inc. Books
 Claire Thomas  The Performance  Hachette Australia
 Christos Tsiolkas  7 ½  Allen & Unwin
 Michael Winkler  Grimmish  Puncher and Wattmann

“This year’s longlist, drawn from a robust pool of entries, reflects the thematic richness and the formal adventurousness of the contemporary Australian novel, as our writers respond to our times,” said Richard Neville, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian.

“Diverse in every sense, it extends from works of realism to novels in a more experimental vein, proving that the nation’s story-tellers are continuing to test the boundaries of what the novel can do.”

The judging panel comprises Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian of the State Library of NSW and Chair; author and literary critic, Dr Bernadette Brennan; literary scholar, Dr Mridula Nath Chakraborty; book critic, Dr James Ley; and author and editor, Dr Elfie Shiosaki.

Last year, the Miles Franklin Literary Award was awarded to Amanda Lohrey for her novel, The Labyrinth (2021).

The shortlisted finalists will be revealed on 23 June and the winner announced on 20 July 2022. For more information, visit: for details.

Image: 2022 Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist (supplied)