New Creative Australia board to lead arts sector revival

AAR-The-Hon-Tony-Burke-MPThe Federal Government has announced its appointees to a new board to lead Creative Australia. Representing Australian artists, performers and industry professionals, the appointees will provide leadership to change the trajectory of arts in Australia – empowering the sector to grow and thrive.

Under the Creative Australia Act 2023, the Board will lead Creative Australia – the Government’s principal arts investment and advisory body.

There will be 14 members of the Board, to ensure broad representation of the arts and creative sector.

Creative Australia – a revitalised Australia Council – is a key part of Revive, Australia’s new national cultural policy.

Under Revive, the Albanese Labor Government is delivering a new chapter for Australian arts and culture – backed by record funding.

Minister for the Arts, Tony Burke, said the appointees reflect the richness, diversity and strength of the arts in Australia.

“Creative Australia will bring the drive, direction and vision that Australian artists have been calling out for,” said Minister Burke.

“All of these appointees have already made significant contributions in their respective fields – and I know they’ll ensure the success of Creative Australia.”

The appointees of the Creative Australia board are:

  • Mr Robert Morgan (Chair) – Chair of the Australia Council Board since July 2021 and Chair and Chief Executive Office of the Clemenger Group Limited
  • Prof Wesley Enoch AM (Deputy Chair) – Indigenous Chair of Creative Industries, Queensland University of Technology and internationally acclaimed playwright and director
  • Mr Adrian Collette AM – Chief Executive Officer of Creative Australia
  • Ms Caroline Bowditch – Chief Executive Officer of Arts Access Victoria, choreographer and performance artist
  • Ms Alexandra Dimos – Managing Director of the Nunn Dimos Foundation and Director of Philanthropy Australia
  • Mr Stephen Found – Managing Director and owner of Foundation Theatres, operating the Capitol Theatre and Sydney Lyric Theatre
  • Ms Rosheen Garnon – Chair of the Board of Taxation and Director of the Smith Family and Women Corporate Directors Australia
  • Ms Amanda Jackes – Managing Director and co-founder of Woodfordia Inc and Festival Director of the Woodford Folk Festival
  • Dr Lindy Lee – Australian contemporary visual artist and Director of Lindy Lee Artistic Productions Pty Ltd
  • Ms Christine Simpson Stokes AM – Executive Director of Australian Capital Equity and Trustee of Western Australia’s children’s charity Telethon
  • Ms Courtney Stewart – Artistic Director and Chief Executive Officer of La Boite Theatre, dramaturg, actor and teaching artist
  • Ms Kitty Taylor – Executive Co-Director of RANT Arts and visual artist
  • Mr Philip Watkins – Chief Executive Officer of Desart Inc and Director and Deputy Chair of Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation
  • Ms Caroline Wood AM – Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of the Centre for Stories and publisher

Creative Australia was launched, alongside Music Australia and Creative Workplaces, at a special event at the Sydney Theatre Company on Thursday 24 August 2023.

Music Australia will deliver targeted support and investment to empower Australia’s contemporary music industry to rebuild and realise its local and global potential.

Creative Workplaces will provide advice on issues of safety, welfare and pay in the arts and entertainment sector, refer matters to the relevant authorities and work with the sector to develop codes of conduct and resources for the sector.

The new appointments will come into effect on 24 August 2023 upon commencement of the Creative Australia Act 2023. For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Minister for the Arts, The Hon Tony Burke MP (supplied)