Eurovision royalty to grace Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020

Eurovision Australia Decides Måns Zelmerlöw - courtesy of SBSSBS and Blink TV have announced that Swedish pop phenomenon and winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2015, Måns Zelmerlöw, is heading to the Gold Coast to perform and be one of the Jury members for Eurovision – Australia Decides next month.

Swedish singer, songwriter and TV presenter Måns Zelmerlöw masterminded one of the most memorable wins in Swedish Eurovision Song Contest history with his performance of the uplifting multiplatinum single Heroes. After winning, Heroes peaked at #1 on iTunes in 21 countries and his tour across Europe took him to 22 cities – most of them at sold out venues. In 2016, he co-hosted the song contest in Stockholm, Sweden where Dami Im made history winning the Jury vote and coming second overall with her performance of Sound of Silence.

“I’m so excited to come back to my favourite country to perform, and to be a guest judge on the National Eurovision selection show! Australia has sent great songs ever since they joined the Eurovision Song Contest and I think 2020 could be THE year,” said Måns Zelmerlöw. “I might sing a line or two from my winning song from 2015 and from my newest single, Walk with Me, featuring the wonderful Dami Im. Can’t wait to see you all!”

Joining him in Australia is Eurovision boss Jon Ola Sand who will step down as Executive Supervisor after Rotterdam 2020. Over the past decade, Jon Ola has become synonymous with the Eurovision Song Contest among the hundreds of millions of viewers who’ve watched him throw to the voting segment with the iconic phrase – take it away.

“I’m very happy to be down under and a part of Australia Decides this year,” said Jon Ola Sand. “Since first taking part in 2015, SBS has made a huge contribution to the success of the Eurovision Song Contest. Their excellent national selection show, which showcases the country’s best singing talent, underscores SBS and Australia’s place as valued members of the Eurovision family.”

Hosted on the Gold Coast and broadcast live and exclusive on SBS on Saturday 8 February, the national selection, now in its second year, showcases ten well-known Australian artists, performing original songs, for the chance to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest.

The 2020 contenders from across the musical spectrum vying for the top spot are: Aussie icon Vanessa Amorosi, powerhouse entertainer Casey Donovan, rising First Nations artist Mitch Tambo, glam rock star iOTA, art pop auteur Montaigne, alternative artist Didirri, The Voice winner Diana Rouvas, Australia’s Got Talent winner Jack Vidgen, 19-year-old emerging singersongwriter Jordan-Ravi and Taiwanese-Australian multi-media artist Jaguar Jonze.

The winner of the inaugural Eurovision – Australia Decides Kate Miller-Heidke will return to the stage where it all began to perform Zero Gravity, while powerhouse vocalist and Eurovision 2016 runner up Dami Im will take to the stage with a brand new track.

Hosted by SBS Eurovisionaries comedian Joel Creasey and music buff Myf Warhurst Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase the best of Australian music and bring the nation closer to the Eurovision action. Audiences are encouraged to vote for their favourite acts and the winner will be revealed during the Live TV Final broadcast live and exclusively on SBS on Saturday 8 February.

Eurovision – Australia Decides will be presented at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday 7 and Saturday 8 February – tickets for the Opening Night Show, Matinee Show and Live TV Final are now on sale. For more information on Eurovision – Australia Decides,visit: for details.

Image: Måns Zelmerlöw – courtesy of SBS