An abundance of outstanding nominees announced for the 2015 AWGIE Awards

Jump for Jordan © Brett Boardman PhotographyReflecting an abundance of outstanding work currently being produced in Australia, the Australian Writers’ Guild (AWG) have announced the nominees for the 48th Annual AWGIE Awards. The AWGIEs are the only Australian awards judged exclusively by writers on the basis of the script – the writer’s intention – rather than the finished production.

Nominees for best original telemovie are Steven McGregor for Redfern Now: Promise Me and Katherine Thomson for House of Hancock, while Christopher Lee’s Gallipoli and Jan Sardi and Mac Gudgeon’s The Secret River contend for best adaptation in a television miniseries.

There are four nominees for original television mini-series: The Principal by Alice Addison and Kristen Dunphy; The Kettering Incident by Vicki Madden, Andrew Knight, Cate Shortland and Louise Fox; Deadline Gallipoli by Jacquelin Perske, Stuart Beattie, Shaun Grant and Cate Shortland; and Love Child: Series 2 from Tim Pye, Cathryn Strickland, Chris McCourt, Jane Allen and Tamara Asmar.

In the two categories for original and adapted feature films, the nine nominations are: Paper Planesby Robert Connolly and Steve Worland; The Water Diviner by Andrew Knight and Andrew Anastasios; The Little Death by Josh Lawson; Ashby by Tony McNamara; Skin Deep by Monica Zanetti; Sucker by Ben Chessell and Lawrence Leung; Ruben Guthrie by Brendan Cowell; The Last Cab to Darwin by Reg Cribb with Jeremy Sims; and Holding the Man by Tommy Murphy.

For the Stage, Donna Abela’s Jump for Jordan was one of three nominations, alongside Jada Alberts’ Brothers Wreck and Kate Rice’s Monologue for a Murderer, while Rachael Coopes and Wayne Blair’s Sugarland; Damien Millar’s Marlin; Lachlan Philpott’s M.Rock; and Matthew Whittet’s Girl Asleep are all in the running for the Theatre for Young Audiences Award.

The AWG will also be awarding up to $100,000 of prize money to the recipients of the 2015 Australian Writers’ Foundation Playwriting Award (supported by Kim Williams) and the David Williamson Prize – given in recognition of excellence in writing for the theatre.

The 48th Annual AWGIE Awards Ceremony will be held on Friday 11 September 2015 at Doltone House – Hyde Park, Sydney. For more information and complete list of nominations, visit: for details.

Image: Donna Abela’s Jump for Jordan presented by Griffin Theatre Company – photo by Brett Boardman