2017 Rob Guest Endowment Finalists Announced

2017 Rob Guest Endowment Semi-Finalists - photo by Mark AvellinoStefanie Caccamo, Jayme-Lee Hanekom, Georgina Hopson, Thomas McGuane, Imogen Moore and Morgan Palmer have been announced as the Finalists of the 2017 Rob Guest Endowment Award.

Competing against over 250 applicants, the six outstanding artists were chosen by an expert panel of judges, which included Kellie Dickerson, Martin Croft, David Skelton, Dana Jolly, Andrew Pole, Michael Tyack, Geoffrey Castles and Gary Young.

The 2017 Rob Guest Endowment finalists will be judged at an invitation-only Presentation on Monday 20 November in front of a wide selection of industry professionals. Finalists will have the chance to have musical, dramatic and movement sessions with judges and coaches on the day. They will workshop their chosen material with the judges prior to the Presentation, allowing the judges to get to know the finalists and see how they work, better informing their decision.

Following the Presentation will be a social function where finalists and the winner will be introduced to the industry professionals attending, and make direct contact with people who may assist them in developing their career. This fulfils the aim of the Rob Guest Endowment to better connect young performers with industry professionals who can encourage, mentor and advise them.

The six finalists will compete for the winning prize of $20,000 intended to help them gain the performance experience, media training, guidance and a public image to help them become a leading artist in the Australian musical theatre industry. Applicants also compete for Melbourne’s East End Theatre District Artist Development Award, a $5,000 prize, and runners up will each take home $1,500. In addition, the Playbill Future Prospect Award, a $1,500 prize, is presented to a Semi Finalist who displays promising talent.

This year also sees the return of two exciting categories open to competitors recognizing further excellence in the field of musical theatre. The Rob Guest Endowment Technical Award, in Honour of Sue Nattrass, and The Rob Guest Endowment Musician Award. Both prizes are worth $10,000 cash prize and intended to help an individual fund the tuition and experience needed to help them become a leader in their field.

The 2017 Rob Guest Endowment will be announced on Monday 20 November. For more information, visit: www.robguestendowment.com.au for details.

Image: 2017 Rob Guest Endowment Semi-Finalists – photo by Mark Avellino