2015 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards Winners Announced

Sidney Myer Awards 2016The winners of the prestigious Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards were announced by Carrillo Gantner AO, Chair of the Sidney Myer Fund on Thursday 21 January 2016 at the Sydney Opera House.

Now in its 32nd year, the Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards are one of the richest and most coveted awards in the performing arts in Australia. Dark Mofo and Mofo festivals have captured the imagination of popular and critical acclaim; both festivals are joint winners of the Group Award ($45,000 to each festival).

One of Australia’s most celebrated performers, the multi-talented Ursula Yovich is the Individual Winner ($60,000). Daniel Clarke is a visionary arts leader who transformed Theatre Works to become one of Melbourne’s leading theatre venues.  He has been awarded the Facilitator’s Prize ($25,000).

This year, the Awards have increased in value with the annual Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards now valued at $175,000.  Not only do the Awards celebrate excellence in the performing arts but are crucial in their support for this sector.

In a very troubled world, the arts shine a beacon on our shared humanity – illuminating all that is good; challenging us to question our views and the way we live,” says Carrillo Gantner AO, Chair of the Sidney Myer Fund. “This can only make us stronger and more aware as individuals and together as a society. As testament to this, we have increased the value of the Awards, so that they are free to flourish and renew.”

The Trustees of the Sidney Myer Foundation believe that real achievement should be recognised and rewarded. To date they have awarded well over $3 million adjusted to present day values.

Announced annually, the national awards are determined by a Judging Committee chaired by Carrillo Gantner AO (Chair of the Sidney Myer Fund) and this year they included: Louise Herron AM, Noel Staunton, Sarah Neal, Iain Grandage and John Bailey.

The Judging Committee recognises past achievements but also gives consideration to the potential of an individual or group to continue their contribution to Australian society through the performing arts.

The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards were established in 1984 by the Trustees of the Sidney Myer Fund, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the death of Sidney Myer, a passionate advocate and great friend to the arts.

For more information, visit: www.myerfoundation.org.au for details.

Image: Ursula Yovich and Daniel Clarke (supplied)