2014 Telstra Ballet Dancer Award nominees announced

Image Paul Jeffers / Edelman PR 0423 963 603Six lucky dancers are in the running to win the most prestigious prize in Australian ballet, the Telstra Ballet Dancer Award, after nominations were announced recently in Melbourne at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl.

The 2014 Telstra Ballet Dancer Award (TBDA) nominees are Dimity Azoury (Queanbeyan, ACT), Imogen Chapman (Kelmscott, WA), Ingrid Gow (Randwick, NSW), Cristiano Martino (Adelaide, SA), Rina Nemoto (Tokyo, Japan) and Jade Wood (Cairns, QLD). The nominees were introduced to the public at the recent Telstra Ballet in the Bowl, before taking to the stage for a moonlit performance with the company.

“What a magical setting in which to announce this year’s TBDA nominees. Since the Award was introduced in 2003, we’ve seen so many of our young dancers propelled to reach for the stars and realise their full potential thanks to Telstra’s generous support,” said The Australian Ballet’s Artistic Director David McAllister.

This year marks a remarkable 30-year partnership between The Australian Ballet and Principal Partner Telstra. Warwick Bray, Telstra’s Group Managing Director, Products, said the Award aims to support and encourage the next generation of talent within The Australian Ballet.

“The announcement of our six nominees is a highly anticipated moment every year as it is an opportunity to recognise and reward young dancers for their hard work, talent and passion in this highly competitive and demanding industry,” said Mr Bray.

The Telstra Ballet Dancer Award has proved a launchpad for The Australian Ballet’s brightest stars; six of the company’s current principal artists are former winners of the award.

Last year, Coryphée Christopher Rodgers-Wilson from Camberwell, Victoria took home the top prize after dazzling judges with his beautiful performances. The vivacious dancing of Benedicte Bemet from Mackay was also recognised by audiences when she was announced winner of the coveted People’s Choice Award.

This year’s six nominees were judged on their performances throughout 2013, the development of their technique and their support of and collaboration with their fellow company members. The winner will be announced at the end of the year in Sydney.

For more information, visit: www.australianballet.com.au for details.

Image: Imogen Chapman, Jade Wood, Cristiano Martino, Ingrid Gow, Rina Nemoto, Dimity Azoury – photo by Paul Jeffers, courtesy of The Australian Ballet.