2014 Australian Dance Awards nominees announced

Jasmin Durham and Jarryd Madden_photo by Jeff Busby_courtesy of The Australian BalletAustralia’s most accomplished and leading artists of the professional dance industry will converge at the Sydney Opera House on Sunday 9 November for the presentation of the 2014 Australian Dance Awards.

The pre-eminent industry awards will be presented in an evening of performance that showcases the amazing quality and excellence of innovative and established dance that the Australian industry has to offer.

The depth and diversity of talent across the country is evident with finalists hailing from the far reaches of every state and territory, including Townsville’s Dancenorth, Broome’s Dalisa Pigram and the Darwin based, Tracks Dance Company.

Robina Beard OAM, Chair of the Judging Panel said the quality of entrants in this year’s awards was inspirational: “Australian dance is in a fine place,” says Beard.

“The talent – both new and established – in our industry is truly outstanding and very encouraging for the future of dance in this country. These annual Awards are a wonderful way to celebrate and acknowledge our thriving sector and its exceptional artists.”

The Australian Dance Awards will be presented in 11 categories  including outstanding achievement in choreography, outstanding performance by a male dancer, outstanding performance by a female dancer and Services to Dance Education. This year will also see the inclusion of the Lifetime Achievement award and the Hall of Fame.

2014 Australian Dance Awards nominees are:

Services to Dance:
Catherine Baldwin (CEO & Consultant)
Jeff Busby (Photographer)
Nicolette Fraillon (Music Director & Chief Conductor, The Australian Ballet)
Annie Greig (Artistic Director, Tasdance)

Services to Dance Education:
Janet Karin OAM (Kinetic Educator, The Australian Ballet School & President, IADMS)
Tanya Pearson OAM (Founder, Tanya Pearson Classical Coaching Academy)
Katrina Rank (Dance researcher, education specialist & community dance leader)
Diana Reyes (Spanish dance teacher & educator)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth or Community Dance:
Buzz Dance Theatre – Look the Other Way
QL2 Dance – Hit the Floor Together
STRUT Dance and STEPS Youth Dance Company – Trois Générations
Tracks Dance Company – Zombies in the Banyan Tree

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography:
Rafael Bonachela – Emergence (Sydney Dance Company)
Stephanie Lake – Aorta (Chunky Move)
Leigh Warren – Not According to Plan (Leigh Warren Dance)
Natalie Weir – When Time Stops (Expressions Dance Company)

Outstanding Performance by a Company:
The Australian Ballet – Cinderella
Chunky Move – Aorta
Dancenorth & Opera Queensland – Abandon
Sydney Dance Company – De Novo

Outstanding Achievement in Independent Dance:
Nat Cursio – Blizzard
Larissa McGowan – Skeleton
Dalisa Pigram – Gudirr Gudirr
Aimee Smith – Wintering

Outstanding Performance by a Female Dancer:
Deborah Brown – Brolga (Bangarra Dance Theatre)
Kate Denborough – Flesh & Bone (KAGE)
Leanne Stojmenov – Cinderella (The Australian Ballet)
Rachael Walsh – Giselle (Queensland Ballet)

Outstanding Performance by a Male Dancer:
Waangenga Blanco – Blak (Bangarra Dance Theatre)
Daniel Gaudiello – Cinderella (The Australian Ballet)
James Vu Anh Pham – Aorta (Chunky Move)
Jack Ziesing – When Time Stops (Expressions Dance Company)

Outstanding Achievement in Commercial Dance or Musical Theatre:
David Atkins Enterprises – Hot Shoe Shuffle
Timothy Brown – Salon
Rohan Browne – Singin’ in the Rain
Red Hot Rhythm – Rhythm Junkies

Outstanding Achievement in Dance on Film/New Media:
The Australian Ballet – Behind Ballet
Rochelle Carmichael – Plucked
Sue Healey – On View
Karen Pearlman & Richard James Allen – ‘…the dancer from the dance’ (Physical TV Company)

Lifetime Achievement Award:
To be announced soon!

The 2014 Australian Dance Awards will be presented at a gala ceremony at the Sydney Opera House on Sunday 9 November. For more information, visit: www.australiandanceawards.net.au for details.

Image: Jasmin Durham and Jarryd Madden – photo by Jeff Busby (courtesy of The Australian Ballet)