Nominations Announced for 2013 Helpmann Awards

Chess 2 - Image by Jeff BusbyThe nominations for the 2013 Helpmann Awards have been announced simultaneously at events in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Hobart and Perth. This is the first time the Nominations events were held concurrently in 6 cities and a first for Adelaide, Hobart and Perth.

The Nominations were announced by various acclaimed performers including David Atkins OAM, Christie Whelan Browne, Chloe Dallimore, Sharon Millerchip, Catherine McClements, Simon Gallaher, Cameron Goodall, Rob Mills and Erika Heynatz to name but a few.

Live Performance Australia (LPA) received an incredible 822 entries across 41 categories this year, making it one of the highest number of entries ever received in The Helpmann Awards 13 year history.

Chief Executive, Evelyn Richardson, said “The Helpmann Awards are the pinnacle ‘night of nights’ event for our industry, recognising the very best in live performances that annually attract over 17 million people to shows across the country with revenues topping $1.3 billion.”

“This year we are also delighted to announce two additional Awards which will be presented at the ceremony. The Best Special Event Award will be presented to White Night Melbourne, Victorian Major Events Company on behalf of the State Government of Victoria.”

“An Award will also be given for Outstanding Theatrical Achievement: for the design, creation and operation of King Kong – the creature. The Industry Awards Panel and Helpmann Awards Administration Committee felt strongly that this ground breaking Australian creation, the first of its kind in the world, was worthy of individual recognition.”

The Helpmann Awards also incorporate the Brian Stacey Award for Emerging Australian Conductors. This year the Brian Stacey Memorial Trust announced Carolyn Watson as the winner of the award, also receiving an $8000 prize.

The 13th Annual Helpmann Awards will be presented live in Sydney at Sydney Opera House on Monday 29th July hosted by Eddie Perfect and Christie Whelan Browne, and broadcast on Foxtel’s Arena.

To view the complete list of nominations, visit:

Image: Chess – The Production Company (image by Jeff Busby)