Victorian screen leaders celebrate another year of success

film-victoria-awards-2016Victoria’s screen sector have gathered to celebrate a year of success in 2015-16 and honour the achievements of five industry leaders who have helped to build Victoria’s reputation as the creative state.

Minister for Creative Industries Martin Foley congratulated the winners of Film Victoria’s annual Screen Leader Awards, which this year included two new categories to recognise writing and directing, named in honour of outstanding Victorian screen practitioners.

“Congratulations to the recipients of the 2016 Screen Leader Awards – all are outstanding examples of Victoria’s talented screen practitioners who continue to make an invaluable contribution to our creative industries,” said Minister for Creative Industries Martin Foley. “Through our ‘Creative State’ strategy, the Andrews Labor Government will continue to bring local stories to audiences, and support the careers of film, television and games talent in front of, and behind the scenes.”

The inaugural Fred Schepisi Award was presented to acclaimed Director Greg Mclean, acknowledging his achievements in directing from his 2005 debut feature Wolf Creek through to his most recent film The Belko Experiment, which screened at the 2016 Toronto International Film Festival.

Alison Nisselle, whose credits include television dramas Phoenix, Janus, Bed of Roses and the feature film Healing, received the Jan Sardi Award for her significant achievement as a screenwriter.

Deb Cox and Fiona Eagger, the duo behind Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries were acknowledged with the Jill Robb Award for their outstanding leadership. The pair, through their production company Every Cloud Productions, have built a reputation for creating nationally and internationally successful programs.

Post-production specialist Ian Anderson, whose expertise has been instrumental on productions including The Castle and The Secret Life of Us and Oddball, received the John Howie Award for outstanding leadership, achievement and service to the industry.

The event also highlighted an impressive year for the Victorian screen industry with the release of Film Victoria’s 2015-16 Annual Report detailing the 67 film, television and games projects supported across the year. The report revealed that the supported projects generated more than 8,000 jobs and injected $173 million into the Victorian economy.

“We’re incredibly proud to honour Fiona Eagger, Deb Cox, Ian Anderson, Greg McLean and Alison Nisselle with their respective awards. Their achievements and leadership will inspire others in Victoria’s screen community,” said Film Victoria CEO Jenni Tosi. “Our 2015/16 annual results highlight the talent and creativity that exists here in Victoria, across all sectors and we congratulate all those who contributed to this success.”

For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Alison Nisselle, Greg McLean, Ian Anderson, Deb Cox and Fiona Eagger – courtesy of Film Victoria