The 36th Annual Green Room Awards return in April

GRAA Comedy Theatre Audience274 Nominations, 111 Productions, 62 Awards, 1 night. Join Melbourne’s Arts Industry at the iconic Comedy Theatre on Monday 1 April as we celebrate and applaud the achievements of our talented peers. Now in its 36th year, the Green Room Awards Association (GRAA) is Victoria’s peak body for honouring excellence and innovation across our vibrant Arts sector.

The Green Room Awards recognise outstanding achievements in productions from Cabaret, Contemporary and Experimental Performance, Dance, Independent Theatre, Music Theatre, Opera, and Theatre Companies.

The awards acknowledge the contributions of the many diverse Artists and Technicians who create work in our local industry. Across its long history previous winners include Australian playwright Michael Gow, Soprano Marina Prior, dancer and Australian Ballet CEO, David McAllister, the multi-talented Tim Minchin, and international star Rachel Griffiths.

“This year we have an impressive number of nominees across all art forms which tells us that the Victorian performing arts sector is flourishing,” saysGRAA President Hilary Glow. “In 2019 we also welcome the arrival in Melbourne of our sister awards, the Helpmanns. They have a national focus and tend to acknowledge the work of the big commercial music theatre productions and mainstage shows.”

“The Green Room Awards, by comparison, are focused on Victoria with a (non-exclusive) emphasis on the independent and small-medium sector. So the two awards have quite different remits. The GRA ceremony is always a brilliant night of celebration.”

Every year the GRAA present four special awards at the ceremony to individuals whose careers have been hugely significant for the sector. This year we honour the following women whose dedication and work have shaped the landscape of the local industry, and beyond.

The Outstanding Contribution to Cabaret will be presented to Linda Catalano, Technical Achievement Award to Roslyn Oades, the Geoffrey Milne Memorial Award for Outstanding Contribution to Contemporary and Experimental Performance has been awarded to Jude Anderson and Patricia Cornelius is the recipient of the 2019 GRA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Hosted by legends of Melbourne performance, Anni Davey and Maude Davey, the 2019 ceremony will be a jam-packed night with live performances. This year will see one of the highest nomination counts ever considered in view of the outstanding work presented throughout 2018.

Presentations will be made by valued Partners and Sponsors of the GRAA as well as arts industry professionals. A highlight on the Melbourne Arts calendar, the annual Green Room Awards is a joyous celebration of our local Arts and Artists, not to be missed.

The 36th Annual Green Room Awards take place at Melbourne’s Comedy Theatre on Monday 1 April 2019. Nominations will be announced on Victorian Theatre Day – Tuesday 19 February 2019. For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Audience at the Comedy Theatre (supplied)