The 2024 Stella Prize shortlist announced

The 2024 Stella Prize ShortlistEntering its twelfth year, the Stella Prize continues to fortify its place as a vital presence in Australia’s literary landscape by platforming and amplifying the voices and stories of women and non-binary authors. Stella is thrilled to announce this year’s shortlist.

The 2024 Stella Prize shortlist:

The 2024 judges, Beejay Silcox (Chair), Eleanor Jackson, Cheryl Leavy, Bram Presser, and Yves Rees, were unanimous in their decisions regarding this year’s books.

“All of life and death is here in these pages: illness, madness, love, sex, slaughter, parenthood, sovereignty, climate, Country. But none of the books on this shortlist tell readers what to think. They do not hector, lecture or preach,” said Beejay Silcox.

“Rather, they open spaces for doubt and self-examination, disagreement and camaraderie, rage, absurdity and exultation for the grotesque and the gorgeous. They invite us in. And they trust us to make up our own minds. This is the quality that distinguished them in the judging room: their mighty generosity.”

Thanks to the generous support of the McLean Foundation and Stella Forever Fund, each of the shortlisted authors receives $4,000 in prize money. The winner – who will receive the $60,000 prize – will be announced on Thursday 2 May 2024. For more information, visit: for details.

Image: The 2024 Stella Prize shortlist (supplied)