Sweet Charity to play Canberra and beyond in 2015

HTC_Sweet CharityCanberra Theatre Centre is proud to announce the return of professional musicals to the Nation’s Capital with three-time Helpmann Award Winning production of Sweet Charity this coming February.

The critically-acclaimed sold out production of Sweet Charity at Hayes Theatre Co in February 2014 opened to rave reviews and standing ovations. Sweet Charity went on to be nominated for eight Helpmann Awards and won three including Best Female Actor in a Musical for Verity Hunt Ballard, Best Direction of a Musical for Dean Bryant and Best Choreography in a Musical for Andrew Hallsworth.

This remarkable production will play the Canberra Theatre Centre for a strictly limited season from 11-22 February 2015. Other cities and venues will be announced soon.

“Presenting Sweet Charity at Hayes Theatre Co in Sydney was one of the most rewarding experiences of our producing careers” said Lisa Campbell of Luckiest Productions.

“The magic that was created by the cast and creative team rightly caused a sensation, and we were immediately determined to bring this magical experience to a wider audience. We are thrilled to be able to present the show again.”

Director of Canberra Theatre Centre Bruce Carmichael says having such an acclaimed musical come to town is a huge deal for Canberra. “This is going to be one of the biggest show-stopping musicals we’ve seen here in recent years,” said Carmichael.

“I am so pleased we’re able to host such an acclaimed production that audiences would normally have to travel to Sydney or Melbourne for, right here in Canberra. It’s going to be a fantastic way to start off the theatre’s 50th birthday year and I can’t wait!”

Sweet Charity is directed by Helpmann and Green Room Award winner Dean Bryant, and boasts an outstanding list of musical theatre stars led by Verity Hunt-Ballard – who won a Helpmann Award for Charity and her star-making role as Mary Poppins in the 2011 Disney and Cameron Mackintosh touring production.

Other cast members include Helpmann nominees Martin Crewes (Dr Zhivago), Debora Krizak (A Chorus Line), Kuki Tipoki, Rowena Vilar, Xander Ellis, Francesca O’Donnell, Jakob Ambrose and Sean Matthew Moore. Musical Direction by Andrew Worboys, choreography by Andrew Hallsworth, and costume and wig design by Academy Award and Tony winner Tim Chappel.

“Hayes Theatre Co exploded onto the theatre scene with this moving, incredible production of Sweet Charity,” says Hayes Theatre Co Chair Neil Gooding.

“The Helpmann Awards were an unexpected surprise – and we are beyond thrilled to see our first theatrical “baby” growing up, and touring Australia in 2015. We hope that this is the first of many main-stage transfers for the productions which originate at Hayes Theatre Co – the home for musical theatre and cabaret in Sydney.”

Sweet Charity will play the Playhouse Theatre – Canberra Theatre Centre 11 – 22 February 2015. For more information, visit: www.canberratheatrecentre.com.au for details.

Image: Sweet Charity