St Kilda Film Festival announce 2017 Award Nominations

SKFF The Eleven O'Clock Josh LawsonSt Kilda Film Festival, Australia’s longest-standing and publicly owned short film festival has announced this year’s award nominees – all of whom are in the running for more than $50,000 worth of cash and prizes across 17 categories.

As an Academy Awards qualifying event, the winners of this year’s Best Short Film and Best Documentary will also be eligible for consideration in the Oscars Short Film and Oscars Documentary Shorts Award categories.

The 2017 St Kilda Film Festival’s most prestigious title of Best Short Film will see one of four nominees take home a $10,000 cash prize courtesy of the City of Port Phillip. This year’s nominees for Best Short Film are: Welcome Home Allen, The Dam, Adele and Slapper. Nominees for Best Screenplay are: Josh Lawson – The Eleven O’Clock; Lauren Ford – The Anthesis of Man; Alice Englert – The Boyfriend Game; and Jordan Bond – Big City.

There is fierce competition for the Best Director category, with some of Australia’s most promising directors listed as nominees including: Mirene Igwabi for her work Adele; Luci Schroder for her work Slapper; Kate Riedl for her work The Suitor; and Andrew Kavanagh for his work Welcome Home Allen.

City of Port Phillip Mayor Bernadene Voss says Council is excited by the diversity of the films, genres and submission locations of the 2017 program. “The St Kilda Film Festival had an incredible variety of films shown in this year’s program,” said Cr Voss. “The City of Port Phillip is always proud to be able to showcase the innovative and inspiring films created and starred in by some of Australia’s best talent across different disciplines.”

This year’s winners will be announced at the Film Festival’s Closing Night Awards on Saturday 27 May at the St Kilda Town Hall. For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Josh Lawson stars in The Eleven O’Clock – courtesy of St Kilda Film Festival