New McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards to support Artists

Cyrus-Tang-The-Modern-World-Encyclopaedia-Vol-2-2017Long known for exhibiting large-scale, public sculptures, the McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery has instituted a new national “small sculpture” Award as a way of supporting artists in troubled times.

The annual, non-acquisitive McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards 2020 is for domestic scale works, no more than 50cm at the largest dimension. The works from all 44 finalists will be for sale, with viewing of all works on the McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery website and all proceeds going to the artists.

McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery Director, Lisa Byrne, said the initiative was developed to support artists who pursue the sculptural discipline at a time when artists most need new opportunities. “Artists need our support and encouragement at this incredibly demanding time.” she said.

“McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery is delighted be supporting one of our key stakeholder groups, the sculptors. We are fortunate to have received financial support from the Elisabeth Murdoch Sculpture Fund and an anonymous private donor to provide funding for this Award,” said Ms Byrne.

The Award judging panel members were Lisa Roet – artist and McClelland Trustee; John Young AM, artist and McClelland Trustee; and Jason Smith, Director, Geelong Gallery. 44 finalists were selected from 320 submissions from local and interstate artists, representing artists at all stages of their careers.

The winners of the inaugural McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards 2020 are: James Geurts, Matt Hinkley, Kerrie Poliness and Cyrus Tang. Each winner will each receive $3,000.

Ms Byrne said the Award was an initiative to encourage artists to consider sculptural concepts suitable for a domestic scale as opposed to sculpture suitable for a major public environment.

“We believe collectors are increasingly interested in including three-dimensional artwork in their collections, and we are pleased to offer the works of all 44 finalists for sale via a digital catalogue on the McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery website,” said Ms Byrne.

The McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards finalists included:
Fiona Abicare, Daniel Agdag, Claire Bridge, Robert Bridgewater, Eugene Carchesio, Aaron Carter, Kris Coad, Ewen Coates, Narinda Cook, Augustine Dall’Ava, Emma Davies, Michael Doolan, Brodie Ellis, Danny Fotopoulos, James Geurts, Matt Hinkley, Odette Ireland, Freya Jobbins, Yvonne Kendall, Madeline Kidd, Alicia King, Michael Le Grand, Lucas Maddock, John Meade, Sanné Mestrom, Clare Milledge, Clive Murray-White, Nell, Louise Paramor, Sassy Park, Mary Lou Pavlovic,  Kenny Pittock, Kerrie Poliness, Steven Rendall, Juan David Rodriguez Sandoval, Paul Selwood, Ema Shin, Matthew Sleeth, Vipoo Srivilasa, Kylie Stillman, Cyrus Tang, Ronnie van Hout, Jan van Schaik, and Narelle White.

For more information about the McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards, visit: for details.

Image: Cyrus Tang, The Modern World Encyclopaedia Vol 2, 2017, cremated book ashes, book cover and acrylic case, 40.0 x 40.0 x 45.0 cm – courtesy of the Artist and ARC ONE Gallery