Independent Music Theatre to take over Darlinghurst Theatre Venue

IMT_mainPotts Point will be the home for music theatre and cabaret in Sydney when Independent Music Theatre (IMT) take over the stage of the Reginald Murphy Hall currently known as the Darlinghurst Theatre.

Independent Music Theatre, a not-for-profit company made up of an artistic group of cabaret and music theatre specialists, has been awarded the tender from City of Sydney Council to take over the venue.

Independent Music Theatre is a collaborative partnership between organisations that currently present or facilitate music theatre, cabaret and small-scale musicals in Sydney and across Australia.

The artistic group includes Luckiest Productions: David Campbell, Lisa Campbell and Richard Carroll; Neglected Musicals: Michelle Guthrie; Squabbalogic: Jay James-Moody and Jessica Burns; Neil Gooding Productions: Neil Gooding; and independent producers Michael Huxley and Simone Parrott.

“We are creating a home for music theatre and cabaret,” said Neil Gooding, IMT Company Director.

“This will allow writers, directors, musical directors, choreographers, performers and designers to develop not only new work but also specifically tailored small scale musical theatre from Australia, Broadway and The West End.”

The collaborative partnership will seek to provide a cultural hub where artists can share resources and knowledge, nurturing their skills though exploration, creation, presentation and audience development of theatrical works.

“We will present a range of performances including new musicals, re-imagined classics, small scale new work from Australia and overseas, cabaret, children’s productions and connect with an already established audience,” said David Campbell.

“This intimate venue gives audiences the opportunity to enjoy an up close and personal style of music theatre.”

In the coming weeks Independent Music Theatre will announce a renaming of the venue and plans for the future.

For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Independent Music Theatre Artistic Group