Craig Pearce to be presented with Lifetime Achievement Award at 49th Annual AWGIE Awards

Craig Pearce AWGIE AwardsOne of Australia’s most successful screenwriters, Craig Pearce, is to be presented with the 2016 Australian Writers’ Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his major contribution to the Australian screen industry over more than 30 years.

Pearce, who has worked extensively with Australian director Baz Luhrmann, co-wrote some of Australian cinema’s most loved and iconic films which have gone on to win national and international awards. Speaking from Wales where he is working on the production of his new TV series about the early life of William Shakespeare, Pearce said it is a great honour to win such a prestigious award. “I’m humbled and it is a huge honour particularly to be getting this award from fellow writers,” he said.

Pearce’s films have won countless accolades, including an AFI award for best screenplay (Strictly Ballroom), a BAFTA award for best adapted screenplay (Romeo + Juliet), a WGA nomination for best original screenplay (Moulin Rouge) and eight Academy Award nominations, including best film (Moulin Rouge). Pearce also co-wrote with Baz Luhrmann, The Great Gatsby. In 2010, Universal Studios released Pearce’s adaptation of Charlie St. Cloud starring Zac Efron.

Australian Writers’ Guild president and Oscar-nominated Shine screenwriter Jan Sardi said Pearce has received the Award in recognition of his integral role creating some of Australia’s most critically and commercially successful movies. “Now he is blazing his own trail internationally with the major miniseries Will – based on the life of William Shakespeare, which he has written and is now in production in Wales,” said Sardi. “Craig stands alone as one of Australia’s most distinctive voices and successful screenwriters.”

Commencing in 2015, the Lifetime Achievement Award recognises writers who have made a significant contribution to the Australian screen industry. The Award celebrates the achievements of Australia’s most revered and admired writers, those who have achieved critical and commercial success throughout their career and made significant contributions to our national film culture. The inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Laura Jones at the National Screenwriters’ Conference in March 2016.

The 2016 AWGIE Awards will be presented in Sydney tonight at the Ivy Ballroom. For more information, visit: for details.

Image: Craig Pearce (supplied)