Celebrating Your Stories – 53rd Annual Awgie Awards Call for Entries

AWG Yvonne Strahovski plays Sophie Werner in Stateless - courtesy of ABCTVThe AWGIE Awards have long celebrated Australia’s best storytellers. For 53 years, they have endured to recognise and reward the exceptional work of our screen and stage writers, shining a light on those who entertain and challenge audiences and giving us all a chance to come together for a night of fun.

As we head into a time of uncertainty and change it feels more important than ever that this tradition continue, the Australian Writers’ Guild (AWG) are excited to announce that the 2020 AWGIE Awards are now officially open for entries!

The AWG understand these are tumultuous times for writers, so this year they are waiving entry fees for all members wishing to enter the AWGIES. This night is your night, and with difficult times ahead, the 2020 AWGIES represent a vital opportunity for us to come together and celebrate exceptional writing and writers.

Entries are open to eligible screen, stage, interactive and audio works that finished principal photography or production or had a first performance between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2019 (check individual categories for eligibility criteria).

The AWGIE elves are busy plotting ways to ensure that no matter what, the night will go on (who knows, we may be looking at the first AWGIE Awards brought live to your living room), so make sure you check out the guidelines to see if your work is eligible.

Celebrating the very best in Australian stage and screen writing the AWGIE Awards recognise the outstanding achievements of Australian storytellers and their contribution to Australia’s cultural landscape. These prestigious awards are the only industry awards given by writers to writers judged exclusively on the basis of the writer’s own vision, the script.

Entries are now open and close at 12.00pm on Monday 20 April 2020. The 53rd Annual AWGIE Awards are scheduled to be presented on 25 September 2020 in Sydney. For more information, visit: www.awg.com.au for details.

Image: Yvonne Strahovski plays Sophie Werner in Stateless – courtesy of ABCTV

Note: In response to the current COVID-19 situation, all AWG staff are working remotely. Please direct all messages to admin@awg.com.auas the AWG phone line is currently unattended. The AWGIE Awards is for members only!