Celebrating the recipients of the 2021 National Arts and Disability Awards

AAR-AC-Georgia-Scott-Timothy-Cook-Eliza-Hull-photo-by-Cathy-RonaldsPresented by the Australia Council for the Arts and Arts Access Australia, Georgia Scott, Timothy Cook and Eliza Hull have been announced as the recipients of this year’s National Arts and Disability Awards. The national awards recognise artists and arts workers who have made an outstanding contribution to the artistic and cultural life of the nation.

Australia Council’s National Arts and Disability Award (Young Artist) – $20,000:
Sydney-based composer Georgia Scott, who receives the award for a young artist, has already achieved considerable success within Australia and internationally. She is a strong advocate for gender equity and challenging disability discrimination.

Australia Council’s National Arts and Disability Award (Established Artist) – $50,000:
The award for an established artist is awarded to First Nations NT-based artist Timothy Cook, one of the Tiwi Islands most decorated living artists. He has exhibited his work nationally and internationally and is inspiring a new generation of artists.

Arts Access Australia’s National Leadership Award – $10,000:
Singer-songwriter Eliza Hull receives the Arts Access Australian National Leadership Award. Eliza is a contemporary musician, audio producer and disability activist based in regional Victoria.

“We are delighted to recognise these three wonderful artists – who each in their own way demonstrate the power of the arts to connect us and to change lives,” said Australia Council CEO Adrian Collette AM. “The awards are part of our ongoing commitment to ensuring all Australians can access and benefit from participation in arts and culture.”

“We are also pleased to confirm our continued investment of almost $1 million over the next three years to support sustainable careers and celebrate the achievements of artists with disability through the National Arts and Disability Awards, Mentoring Initiatives, as well as a new fellowship for d/Deaf and Disabled artists, and to continue our partnership with Arts Access Australia.,” said Mr Collette.

“The National Arts and Disability Awards recognise and celebrate the talents of Australian d/Deaf and disabled artists, and the vibrant and critically important contribution we make to Australian culture,” said Arts Access Australia CEO Matthew Hall.

“Again in 2021, Arts Access Australia is delighted to present (with generous support of the Feilman Foundation) this year’s National Leadership Award. If we are to see more opportunities for artists with disability, we need more people with disability in positions of leadership.

“The Award is a key part of our work in creating the opportunities for this to happen. It provides $10,000 and other support to the recipient to develop leadership skills to realise their leadership ambitions,” said Mr Hall.

This is the third year the awards have been held. Past recipients of awards include Gaelle Mellis (2020), Emily Crockford (2020), Abbie Madden (2020), Janice Florence (2019), Dion Beasley (2019) and Madeline Little (2019).

The National Arts and Disability Awards have been presented in the lead up to the International Day of People with Disability on Friday 3 December 2021. For more information, visit: www.australiacouncil.gov.au for details.

Image: Georgia Scott (supplied) | Timothy Cook (supplied) | Eliza Hull – photo by Cathy Ronalds