Australian Theatre Festival NYC announces online season for 2020

AAR-ATF-NYC-HomeArtistic Directors Mark Barford, Connor Delves and Jillian Geurts have announced the upcoming 2020 season of the Australian Theatre Festival NYC, which takes place online 4 & 5 December.

Featuring Australian artists and stories with the theme ‘Home’ – the 2020 season includes 5 commissioned short plays, an online cabaret and an industry panel. All events in the online festival are free to view. The Commissioned Short Plays include:

Cape Flattery by Chenoa Deemal & Alana Valentine
Director – Alana Valentine | Featuring – Chenoa Deemal

Bad Coffee by Alexander Hodge
Director – Owen Elliott | Featuring – Kane Parker and Youssef Sabet

Permanent Fixtures by Micharne Cloughley
Director – Benita de Wit | Featuring – Alanah Allen, Siho Ellsmore, Eleanor Handley and Kaye Tuckerman

The Window by Christine Evans
Director – Alies Sluiter | Featuring – Anya Banerjee and Jillian Geurts

Stranded by Mark Barford
Directors – Mark Barford & Connor Delves | Featuring – Casey Bradley, Rose Cavanagh, Mark Dessaix, Madeleine Galea, Pia Hagen, Rebecca Ho, Carla Kissane, JD Martin and Emilio Ramos

Online Cabaret
Including songs by Australian composers Carmel Dean, Anna Jacobs and Matthew Lee Robinson, the Online Cabaret features additional Australian musical theatre, pop, rock and classical music. Music Director – Benedict Braxton-Smith Associate Music Director – Lucy O’Brien.

The cabaret will feature performances by Hannah Bailey, Majeda Beatty, Kate Carey, Amelia Cormack, Connor Delves, Cindy Drummond, Eimear Foley, Eddie Grey, Brooke Henzell, Benjamin Howes, Emily Janes, Sheridan Mouawad, Matthew Overberg and Jessica Rookeward.

Industry Panel
Moderated by Ruby Vadiveloo, the industry panel line-up includes Carmel Dean, Francis Lawrence, Youssef Sabet and Alies Sluiter.

The Australian Theatre Festival is an annual celebration of Australian stories and artists in New York City. It aims to create opportunities for an exchange of culture through the presentation of diverse theatrical content. By showcasing Australian artists, the festival will cultivate their development on a global stage as well as connect Australians living in New York.

The Advisory Committee for the Australian Theatre Festival – NYC includes: Nick Bailey, Andrew Bovell, Dr. Lynne Bradley, Benita de Wit, Chenoa Deemal, Trudy Dunn, Wesley Enoch AM, Monica Keightley, Anchuli Felicia King, Andrew J. Martin-Weber, Izzy McDonald and Sheridan Mouawad.

The Australian Theatre Festival – NYC takes place online on 4 & 5 December 2020. For more information, and how to watch the festival free online, visit: for details.

Image: Australian Theatre Festival NYC (Supplied)