2024 NSW Premier’s History Awards – call for nominations

Reading-Room-State-Library-of-NSWThe State Library of NSW has announced the opening of nominations for the NSW Premier’s History Awards 2024.

A total of $85,000 in prize money will be presented to the winners at an awards ceremony at the State Library on 6 September 2024.

Administered by the State Library, in association with Create NSW, the NSW Premier’s History Awards will offer prizes in six categories this year:

  • Australian History Prize ($15,000)
  • General History Prize ($15,000)
  • New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)
  • Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)
  • Digital History Prize ($15,000)
  • The Anzac Memorial Trustees’ Military History Prize ($10,000)

All works nominated for the NSW Premier’s History Awards 2024 must be first published, screened, broadcast or made publicly available between 1 April 2023 and 31 March 2024.

Nominations may be made by authors or by their authorised representative: agent, publisher, professional theatre company, film distributor, production company, or broadcasting company or corporation.

The NSW Premier’s History Awards were first presented in 1997 to honour distinguished achievement in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents. The Awards acknowledge the contribution of historical research to our culture and communities, and to society at large.

Past winners have included Alan Atkinson, Joan Beaumont, Stuart Macintyre, Ken Inglis, Inga Clendinnen, Bruce Scates, Mark McKenna, Warwick Thornton, Sean Scalmer, Ann McGrath, Nadia Wheatley and Grace Karskens.

For more information about the NSW Premier’s History Awards, including guidelines and nomination form, visit: www.sl.nsw.gov.au for details. Entries are now open and close 3 April 2024.

Image: Reading Room – State Library of NSW (supplied)