2020 Indie Book Awards Winners Announced

Favel Parrett There Was Still LoveAustralian independent booksellers, members of Leading Edge Books, have announced There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia) as their favourite book from last year, and the winner of the Indie Book Awards 2020 Book of the Year.

“Parrett’s latest carries the dreamlike subtlety that made readers fall in love with When the Night Comes and Past the Shallows…” said Bookseller judge Callum Macdonald (from Berkelouw Books). “This novel is a love letter to the stories that Parrett has been shaped by, and the personal history that at once defines and directs us. Melodious and poetic, this book is easy to love.”

Favel Parrett was the name on everyone’s lips in September, with the launch of the comprehensive national campaign for There Was Still Love – which was Favel’s fastest selling book to date and is already her highest selling first format.

“It’s not a stretch to say that Australian Independent bookshops changed my life,” said Favel Parrett. “Back in 2011, Past the Shallows was hand-sold with love across the county by you guys and that literally set my career path in stone. I am so very grateful.”

“Over the years I have come to know many of you as good friends – like-minded souls who are full of passion. These friendships have been the highlight of becoming a writer. I’m truly sad that we can’t all be together celebrating. But I hope to see you soon.”

“There was Still Love came straight from my heart and it means the absolute world to me win this award. I know my grandparents would be proud. It’s probably lucky I am not giving this speech in person, as I know I would burst into tears. Thank you, thank you, thank you – my heart is very full.”

The Awards recognise and celebrate the indie booksellers as the number one supporters of Australian authors. What makes our Indies uniquely placed to judge and recommend the best Aussie books of the past year to their customers and readers, is their incredible passion and knowledge, their contribution to the cultural diversity of the Australian reading public by recommending books beyond the big brands, and their love of quality writing.

The individual category winners in Fiction, Debut Fiction, Non-Fiction, Illustrated Non-Fiction, Children’s and Young Adult were also announced. From these five category winners, the independent booksellers selected the best of the best – the 2019 Indie Book of the Year.

There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia)

There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia)

Tell Me Why by Archie Roach (Simon & Schuster Australia)

Allegra in Three Parts by Suzanne Daniel (Macmillan Australia)

The Lost Boys by Paul Byrnes (Affirm Press)

The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Ugly Animals by Sami Bayly (Lothian Children’s Books)

The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling by Wai Chim (Allen and Unwin Children’s)

The Indies are considered the forerunners of all major Australian book awards. Since the Awards inception in 2008, the Indies have a well-deserved reputation for picking the best of the best in Australian writing. Past Book of the Year winners have gone on to be bestsellers and win other major literary awards.

Previous winners include: Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend, The Dry by Jane Harper; The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood; The Bush by Don Watson; The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan; The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman; All That I Am by Anna Funder; The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do; Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey; Breath by Tim Winton; and last year’s winner, Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton.

For more information about the Indie Book Awards, visit: www.indiebookawards.com.au For information about Leading Edge Books, visit: www.leadingedgebooks.com.au for details.

Image: Favel Parrett – courtesy of Hachette Australia