2016 Sidney Myer Creative Fellows Announced

Sidney Myer Creative Fellows 2016The prestigious Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships have been awarded to eight exceptional and courageous artists from across Australia.

Each Fellow is awarded a tax-free grant of $160,000 over a two-year period. The Fellowships are not tied to any particular outcomes. The Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships value the work of artists and recognise the importance of financially rewarding artists and acknowledging their contribution to society.

The 2016 Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships have been awarded to: Khadim Ali, visual arts (QLD); Mary Anne Butler – playwright (NT); Dr Bianca Hester – visual arts (NSW); Sarah Holland-Batt – poetry (QLD); Alex Kelly – community arts (NT); Gareth Liddiard – music (VIC); Jonathon Oxlade – theatre, film and design (SA); and Justin Shoulder – community arts (NSW).

Each of these eight artists have worked tirelessly and I’m delighted that these Fellowships directly support them and their practice. We must support the arts in any way we can,” says Andrew Myer, Chair of the Sidney Myer Creative Fellowship Selection Panel. “We need the arts and artists, probably more so than ever before.”

“Without a thriving arts community, who will tell the stories and who will be courageous enough when all others fall silent. I am proud that we have been able to support these artists each creating works of excellence across their fields.”

The national Selection Panel for the 2016 Fellows comprised: Stephen Carleton, Fran Clark, Fraser Corfield, Helen Marcou, Sean Pardy, Rachel Swain and Emma Webb.

To be nominated for a Fellowship, artists and thought leaders must be within seven and 15 years into their creative practice and meet two criteria: outstanding talent and exceptional professional courage. They are open to artists and arts managers across the entire spectrum of the visual, performing, interdisciplinary, new media and literary arts.

Established in 2011, the Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships have to date awarded $8.8 million directly to 55 mid-career artists. This uniquely places the Fellows and their artistic endeavours at the centre of the Fellowships. It is one of the many initiatives of the Sidney Myer Fund that supports and enriches the cultural life of Australia.

For more information, visit: www.myerfoundation.org.au for details.

Image: 2016 Sidney Myer Creative Fellows – Alex Kelly, Bianca Hester, Gareth Liddiard, Jonathon Oxlade, Justin Shoulder, Khadim Ali, Mary Anne Butler and Sarah Holland-Batt (supplied)