2016 Melbourne Queer Film Festival Award Winners Announced

MQFF 19 Madeline Kelly After 12 days of screening the best queer film from around Australia and the world, the 26th Melbourne Queer Film Festival (MQFF) has come to an end with the announcement of the Audience, MQFF and Jury Award Winners.

This year, the MQFF has awarded more that $8,500 in cash prizes to films across a range of genres. The winners are…

MQFF & Jury Awards: 

City of Melbourne Best Australian Short Film – $3000
Madeline Kelly – Nineteen

Film Victoria Award for Best Director Australian Short Film – $1000
Dannika Horvat – The Summer of ABC Burns

Shaun Miller Lawyers Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker Australian Short Film – $500
Joshua Longhurst – Oasis

David McCarthy Award for Best Documentary (Australian or International) – $2,000
Nickolas Bird & Eleanor Sharpe – Remembering the Man

Lisa Daniel & Claire Jackson Award Feature (Australian or International) – $2,000
Stephen Dunn – Closet Monster

MQFF Audience Awards:

Step Right Up Audience Choice Award Best Australian Short Film – $500
Dannika Horvat – The Summer of ABC Burns

Audience Award Best Documentary (Australian or International) 
Nickolas Bird & Eleanor Sharpe – Remembering the Man

Audience Award Feature (Australian or International) 
Paul Weitz – Grandma

Through these awards, MQFF support the exceptional work of talented filmmakers from Australia and around the world. For more information, visit: www.mqff.com.au for details.

Image: Madeline Kelly’s 19