2015 Melbourne Fringe Award Winners Announced

Melbourne Fringe WinnersThe winners of the 2015 Melbourne Fringe Festival have been announced at an Awards Ceremony at the Fringe Club at the North Melbourne Town Hall on Saturday 3 October 2015.

Ten awards across the Fringe categories of Performance, Comedy, Music, Live art, Dance, Circus, Cabaret, Visual Arts and Kids were presented to performers as well as the People’s Choice Award decided by voluntary votes from the public.

Fifteen sponsored awards were also presented in categories including Best Emerging Writer, Best Emerging Producer, Best Emerging Indigenous Artist and Best Experimental performance. The awards ceremony then turned into the final Fringe dance party, where winners and fellow artists celebrated the last two weeks of the Fringe Festival and dance the night away.

The 2015 Melbourne Fringe Category and Sponsored Winners are:


Mr Ian Pidd


Best Cabaret
The Road to Shangri La, Mager & Smythe

Best Circus
No Punchline, Game Bird

Best Comedy
Ghost Machine, Laura Davis

Best Dance
This is What’s Happening, Slown, Smallened & Son

Best Kids
Reasons To Stay Inside, Katy Warner

Best Live Art
The Ministry, Kin Collaborative Inc

Best Music
Old Tech New Decks, Vanessa Nimmo and Matt Rankin

Best Performance
FAG/STAG, The Last Great Hunt

Best Venue
The Butterfly Club

Best Visual Arts
AS IF: 40 Years and Beyond, Australian Women’s Art Register

People’s Choice Award
wtf renaissance


Best Experimental Performance
Bodies Over Bitumen, Skye Gellmann, Naomi Francis, Alex Gellman and Kieran Law

Outstanding Comedy Show
Strong Female Character, Rowena Hutson

The SA Tour Ready Award
HART, She Said Theatre

The Tiki Tour Ready Award
HART, She Said Theatre

The WA Tour Ready Award
We May Have To Choose, Emma Hall


Best Emerging Circus Performer
Anne Truong, No Punchline

Best Emerging Indigenous Artist
Ian Michael, HART

Best Emerging Producer
Cameron Stewart, We May Have To Choose

Best Emerging Visual Artist or Curator
The Ownership Project, It Came From Over There

Best Emerging Writer
Telia Nevile, Poet vs. Pageant

Innovation in Culturally Diverse Practice
Shannan Lim and Vidya Rajan, Asian Ghost-ery Store

Original New Circus
Rockie Stone, Vincent Van Berkel and Callan Morgan, Perhaps there is Hope Yet…

The Discovery Award
Emma Hall, We May Have To Choose

The Evolution Award
Gold Satino, Suburbia


Best Student Film
Plunge, Kate Lefoe

Best New Film
One Giant Leap, Carmen Holman


Sustainable Design Award – supported by Banyule City Council
Sarah Thomas & Luke Sharrock (Mitsein), Freshly Squeezed

Tait Award for Design Innovation – supported by Tait
Josh Carmody, Legless Bar Stool

Emerging Designer Award – supported by Craft
Megan Stewart, Fallingwood

Best Student Design – supported by the Australian Furniture Association
Richard Greenacre, Agave Credenza

The Craftsmanship Award – supported by Handsome & Co.
Richard Greenacre, Agave Credenza

Best Lighting Design – supported by Melbourne Fringe
Isabel Avendano Hazbun, Wound Down

For more information, visit: www.melbournefringe.com.au for details.

Image: Melbourne Fringe Winners (supplied)