2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards Winners Announced

CircaThe Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards are a celebration of the performing arts across Australia and pay tribute to outstanding excellence in drama, comedy, dance, music, opera, circus and puppetry. Recipients of the 2013 Awards have been announced including CIRCA, Daniel Keene, Elena Kats-Chernin, Mohindar Dhillon and Jill Morgan AM.

“I am delighted by the depth and the diversity of talent that has been recognised at this year’s Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards,” says Carrillo Gantner AO, Chairman, Sidney Myer Fund Trustees.

“Once again we are reminded how important the arts are to us and how they can broaden our understanding and appreciation of the world around us. Each of the winners have been generous and passionate contributors to the arts and audiences alike and I warmly congratulate them.”

2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Group Award Winner – $80,000
Queensland based CIRCA is the new frontier in circus arts. Under the leadership of Yaron Lifschitz, CIRCA’s evolution from Rock ‘n’ Roll Circus has re-defined what contemporary circus looks like, feels like and sounds like through a brilliant succession of entertaining and successful shows.

2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Joint Individual Award Winner – $25,000 
Daniel Keene is one of Australia’s most distinctive and widely performed playwrights. Writing for the theatre since 1979, Daniel has won prizes for his work in almost every state in Australia as well as overseas.

2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Joint Individual Award Winner – $25,000 
Elena Kats-Chernin is one of this country’s finest composers. This colourful, effervescent musician has a freshness and eclectic style about her artistic pursuits, mixing her personal character and musical creativity in everything she has produced.

2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Joint Facilitator’s Prize Winner – $10,000
Mohindar Dhillon is a trailblazer in multicultural performance. He is a producer and promoter of the most essential type – one focussed chiefly with the connection between artists and audiences. His relentlessness has built bridges where none existed and fuelled enthusiasm for the highest quality Indian artists where once there was indifference.

2013 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Joint Facilitator’s Prize Winner – $10,000 
Jill Morgan AM has achieved the most extraordinary outcomes in the pursuit of a richer, more representative, national cultural voice. For over 25 years Jill has worked tirelessly with multicultural and indigenous artists, continually reminding us the breadth and depth of Australia’s cultural identity.

Announced annually, the national awards are worth $150,000 and are determined by a Judging Committee chaired by Carrillo Gantner AO (Chairman of the Sidney Myer Fund) and this year they included: Paul Dyer AO (Artistic Director of the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra), Brett Sheehy AO (Artistic Director of Melbourne Theatre Company), Hannah Skrzynski (Director of Creative Asia) and Sarah Neal (Executive Producer, Malthouse Theatre).

The Judging Committee recognises past achievements but also gives consideration to the potential of an individual or group to continue their contribution to Australian society through the performing arts.

The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards were established in 1984 by the Trustees of the Sidney Myer Fund, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the death of Sidney Myer, a passionate advocate and great friend to the arts.

Image: Circa by Vince Valitutti