2013 Sidney Myer Creative Fellows Announced

Kate Miller HeidkeTen of Australia’s most courageous and talented mid-career artists and thought leaders have been announced as the 2013 Sidney Myer Creative Fellows. Announced annually, each Fellow is awarded an unrestricted grant of $160,000 over a two year period.

This year’s Fellows are all exceptionally talented, each with a unique voice who are compelled to take professional risks to achieve their vision.  They also demonstrate a generosity of spirit and creativity.

The 2013 Fellowships have been awarded to:   Kate Ben-Tovim, thought leader and creative producer (Vic); Kirsty Boyle, robotic art (NSW); Emma Donovan, music, performance; (Vic); Kate Fielding, thought leader, literature; (WA); Stefan Gregory, theatre sound design (NSW); Stephanie Lake, dance (Vic); Melissa Madden Gray, music, theatre (Vic); Kate Miller Heidke, music, theatre (Qld); Tom Nicholson, visual arts (NSW); and Erkki Veltheim, composition (Vic).

The Fellowships are not tied to any specific outcomes.  Instead, they allow each Fellow time – time to reflect and develop aspects of their creative practice.  Each are emerging as leaders and are forging new ways in their practice and the Fellowships recognise the exceptional talent, courage and dedication of each Fellow.

“The arts and ideas are critical to a thriving and dynamic community,” said Carrillo Gantner AO, Chair, Peer Review Panel.

“The artists and thought leaders of today are clearly central to this. These fellowships recognise the importance of mid-career artists and thought leaders in our society. We want to support them in a practical and purposeful way.”

“These grants provide each Fellow with an income over a two year period at a critical time in their career.   I am delighted that this year’s Fellows represent a broad cross section from across Australia as well as across art forms and creative thinking.”

The national Peer Review Panel for the 2013 Fellows comprised: Carillo Gantner (chair), Sue Nattrass, Julianne Schultz, Iain Grandage, Jonathan Holloway, Gideon Obarzanek, Stephen Armstrong and Fiona Winning.

To be nominated for a Fellowship, artists and thought leaders must be within seven and fifteen years into their creative practice and meet two criteria: outstanding talent and exceptional professional courage.  They are open to artists and arts managers across the entire spectrum of the visual, performing, interdisciplinary, new media and literary arts.

The Fellowship program, which commenced in 2011, is one of the many initiatives of the Sidney Myer Fund that supports and enriches the cultural life of Australia. Since 2011, nineteen Creative Fellowships have been awarded to a wide range of artists and thought leaders.

For more information about the Sidney Myer Creative Fellowships, visit: www.myerfoundation.org.au for details.

Image: Kate Miller Heidke